Kites

Well, I’m not sure why it didn’t occur to me to post this when it was current, but a product I designed was published in the March 23, 2011 edition of the Washington Post Magazine.

I work for a kite company (well kites are the primary item we make, yard decor such as garden flags and spinners are also a big part of what we design). Every year there is a kite festival in Washington DC usually corresponding with the cherry blossom festival. In years past the festival was sponsored by the Smithsonian, so it was called the Smithsonian Kite Festival. This year they did not sponsor it, but it was held anyway and renamed the Blossom Kite Festival. In anticipation of the festival (which was early April) the Washington Post Magazine ran a page featuring kites. Two of the kites they picked were from my company, and one has my artwork on it.

I designed the diamond kite with the yellow Asian dragon on it, right in the center of the page. (My company also makes the checkerboard rainbow delta pictured next to it, although I didn’t design that one.)

I thought this was pretty neat. :D

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kites

  1. sarahgregory says:

    This is sooo very creative and different! I really love the different patterns shown in this article, and I’ve never seen a kite like the one you designed. Koodos!

  2. gnarlycat says:

    Thanks!! The kite I did shown here actually isn’t that typical of the type of kites I make. Most of my company’s kites have the designs sewn entirely out of fabric, appliqué style. So the art we do is a lot simpler so it can be sewn together without too much difficulty. We only made a very few kites where the art is printed directly on the fabric. So that one got to be more detailed than usual, which was fun to do.

  3. H Squared says:

    This is very cool! I have quite the fascination for kites, even though I can’t fly one. When I was in China, I saw SO many kites. I thought kites were pretty much the same, but my eyes were definitely opened there. I am going to send you two pictures of kites I saw there – you might appreciate them. Congrats on your work being in such a high-profile publication. If I had known there was a kite festival, I definitely would have been there. Next year…

  4. gnarlycat says:

    Thanks! I really love traditional Chinese kites, I’d love to see your photos. The few I’ve seen are a lot more artistic looking than the type of kites we mass produce here.

    Although I have to confess I’m rather terrible at flying kites. I have to occasionally fly them so we can take photos for our catalogs. I’m really not good at it at all. I prefer to just put art on them over actually playing with them, heh.

Leave a Reply

