Daniel Leyva

Exploring the website of Daniel Leyva was a very unique and enjoyable experience. I can definitely say I have never encountered another one similar to it. There is a greater use of movement and interaction with the user than is typical for most websites. The way that everything on his pages, including the text, moved around in correspondence to the cursor moving was very interesting. From an artist’s viewpoint I loved the creativity and extra dimension of interest. From the viewpoint of someone who spends a lot of time browsing the internet I loved it a bit less, as I began to feel dizzy whenever I actually tried to read the text. I probably would prefer less movement if I was going to be spending a lot of time reading the blog posts here or frequently navigating the pages.

I found his color palate very appealing. Black backgrounds with white text and other bright colors is very eye-catching to me and creates strong graphics. Everything about his pages (both his personal one and the samples of web design he did for clients) really ‘popped’ and grabbed my attention.

I also loved his modern style. I have a hard time describing it; it most closely reminded me of pop art. The culture references mixed into his artwork were very much the types of things I am personally interested in. I enjoyed looking at his list of inspirations in his blog (well, one of his blogs, it appears he has two but the one that the ‘blog’ link on his website leads you to appears to be a feed from the blog he keeps on tumblr: Word of Command) and seeing film clips from Hayao Miyazaki’s movie ‘Princess Mononoke’ and images of classic video game characters such as Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII.

I was impressed by the diversity in his film projects. There was a range from extremely abstract to fairly conventional. When I was younger I used to watch a lot of programming similar to what is now shown on the TV Land channel, and the commercial he made for TV Land was absolutely perfect for the audience it was designed for. The commercial for the Lincoln Film Society also seemed like an extremely effective execution as well. His experimental projects like ‘Choose Your Player’ had a vastly different feel to them. I can’t say that I understood the more experimental videos very well but I appreciated the way he utilized many different methods to create them, combining more traditional animation techniques such as stop-motion claymation with more modern elements like digital animation. Daniel Leyva definitely strikes me as an artist who is capable of catering his unique style to a broad range of audiences.

This entry was posted in Graphic Artists and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

